The Coptic Museum has the most extensive collection of Coptic antiquities in the world. The Coptic Museum was built to fill a gap in Egyptian history and art. The vast array of artifacts, most of which are of great importance to Coptic art in the world.
If you are looking for an amazing experience that you will ever have in Egypt, check out our Cairo Tours
Where is Coptic Museum located?
This museum is situated within the limits of the Babylonian fortification in Coptic Cairo, which still stands behind the museum building in ancient Egypt.
Establishment of the Coptic Museum:
To fill a hole in the documentation of Egyptian art and aid in the study of the history of Christianity in Egypt, the late Mark Samika (Pasha) founded the Coptic Museum in 1910.
Mark Pasha Samika pushed for the inclusion of the gathering of Coptic artifacts in the objectives of the Committee for the Preservation of Antiquities and Arts in 1893. The current museum building was established by this person after years of struggle and was opened in 1910. He was also named the museum’s first director and was published in 1930 as the museum’s initial guide.
The museum was created in 1910 by Morcos Simika Pasha to gather the data needed to examine the development of Christianity in Egypt, and he completed this task successfully. Egypt had several museums at that time, including the Museum of Islamic Art in Cairo, the Greco-Roman Museum in Alexandria, and the Cairo Museum of the Ancient Pharaonic.
The museum was constructed on property that belonged to the Coptic Church and was voluntarily given to its founder, His Holiness, the late Cyril V. (who died in 1927 AD, followed by Anba Younis, the nineteenth, in 1929 AD).
In 1984, construction on the completion of the Coptic Museum’s new and old wings and the Hanging Church was completed.
The main sections of the Museum:
This museum is the largest in the world for the antiquities of Egypt from the Coptic period, and it includes the following sections:
- The Department of Stones and Frescoes
- The Department of the Development of Coptic Writing and Manuscripts
- Department of fabrics and textiles
- Ivory sections and icons
- The Timber section
- Metal department.
- Pottery and glass department.
The number of holdings in the Coptic Museum is about 16,000. The museum’s holdings were arranged according to their qualities into sections that presented a scientific presentation in which the chronological arrangement was as much as possible.
The museum’s old wing includes a set of wooden furniture and inlaid doors. It also consists of the door made of sycamore wood for the icon-bearing church of St. Barbara. The panels are recognizable, as they were installed in the Fatimid era during the eleventh and twelfth centuries.
The new wing contains a collection that shows various types, models, and themes, such as geometric designs, acanthus leaf scrolls, and vine leaves, friezes decorated with rabbits, peacocks, birds, and rural activities, passing through the Hellenistic and Coptic heritage to the Islamic artistic formulas in Egypt. Manuscripts of the Bible date back thousands of years and are architectural masterpieces.
The Coptic Museum remained affiliated with the Coptic Patriarchate until 1931 when it became affiliated with the Egyptian Ministry of Culture.
The average number of visitors per day ranges from 200 to 250 people of different nationalities.
Facts about Coptic Museum:
- The Coptic Museum is located within the boundaries of the Roman fortress of Babylon, considered one of the most famous and significant surviving monuments of the Roman Empire in Egypt.
- The Coptic Museum was established in 1910 AD.
- The purpose of establishing the museum is to collect antiquities and documents that contribute to enriching the study of Coptic art in Egypt.
- The museum’s total area, including the garden and the fort, is about 8000 m2.
- The museum is considered an endowment of land belonging to the Coptic Orthodox Church and was presented by Pope Kyrillos V the 112th. It was developed with its old and new wings and the hanging church in 1984 AD.
- The number of holdings in the Coptic Museum is about 16,000. The museum’s holdings were arranged according to their qualities into sections that presented a scientific presentation in which the chronological arrangement was as much as possible.
- It includes a group of wooden pieces of furniture and inlaid doors and consists of the door made of sycamore wood for the icon-bearer of the Church of St. Barbara, and the panels can be distinguished as they were installed in the Fatimid era during the eleventh and twelfth centuries.
- The museum includes a collection that shows various types, models, and themes, such as geometric designs.
- The Coptic Museum houses manuscripts of the Bible dating back thousands of years, and it is an architectural masterpiece.
- The Coptic Museum remained affiliated with the Coptic Patriarchate until 1931; then, it became affiliated with the Ministry of Culture. The average number of daily visitors ranges from 200 to 250 people of different nationalities.
Don’t miss to check out our Coptic Cairo Tour to Churches and Coptic Museum